Home-made Quorn burger patties

The first recipe I’m posting is nothing very Asian, but I am completely raving about Quorn mince and just had this for dinner today 🙂 I simply took a meatball recipe from kuali.com and turned it vegetarian!

Greasy meat-free burger and fries

Materials:

250g Quorn Mince
1 small onion, chopped
1 chilli, chopped
Bits of coriander, chopped
1/2 cup of breadcrumbs
2 tablespoons Vegetarian oyster sauce (made of mushroom extract, and it’s yummier than real oyster sauce 🙂 )
1 tablespoon Tomato ketchup
1-2 eggs (as a binder, add enough to allow mince to hold together)
Salt and pepper to taste, maybe even a dash of paprika for those who like it spicy!

Protocol:

Just add all ingredients above and mix till well-distributed.

Heat oil in a non-stick pan and blob in a large spoonful of your patty-mix. Flatten with spatula to desired width and thickness!!!! Allow to brown, then flip over carefully and cook the other side.  (If the mince does not bind well and your burger comes apart while frying, try to first shape your burger patty in cling film and refrigerate it for 30mins before frying).

Serve in burger buns with ketchup, onions, cheese, lettuce, coriander, and whatever else you fancy 🙂

14 thoughts on “Home-made Quorn burger patties

  1. i dont normally like quorn mince but, tried this recipe for a family member,i had to have a try they were delicious thank they were a bit hit

  2. Do you have any other recommendations for what can be used as a binder? I don’t usually keep eggs in… 🙂

    • Hey Josh,

      Sorry but i don’t cook very often so I’m not expert with binding :p Maybe a bit of flour + water ? The oyster sauce helps keep the mix moist (the Quorn I get here in Switzerland is really dry), but it doesn’t bind. If you figured out a solution, do let us know here! It might help vegans…
      🙂

    • Hi Josh, apparently potato protein is really good. I haven’t tried it yet but I’ve heard good reviews about them.

  3. I have copied this recepie to use in a Cafe I help to run for people with learning disabilities.
    It looks delicious and nice and easy for them to follow.

    • Hi Linda,

      I hope it works out!!!!! Quorn sometimes doesn’t bind too well (it’s drier than meat), but hopefully the egg trick works. The oyster sauce adds to the stickiness too. The patty might crumble if there isn’t enough binder….So you might want to test it beforehand :p I’m glad people are finding the recipe, I didn’t think it was anything special as it was just a modification of a meatball recipe from a malaysian cooking website (www.kuali.com). I personally only made the burgers 2 other times since posting the recipe!! Hmmm maybe i’ll make some more this weekend and freeze to bring to uni for lunch.

      Good luck!!

  4. Once the patties are made you could try refrigerating for a couple of hours. Most meatburgers recommend doing this to firm the pattie up before frying.

  5. This looks fantastic, I’m always looking for new quorn recipes, I’ll try this tonight with my carnivore boyfriend!!

  6. This might be a silly question, but quorn mince comes frozen. Are you defrosting it before making this recipe?

    • Quorn mince here is sold only refrigerated! So yes I think defrosting it would make sense, if not it’s probably too hard to bind and would cook unevenly….

  7. Pretty! This was a really wonderful post. Thanks for providing this information.

  8. Thanks for the recipe, I’ll give this a whirl today and hope it turns out nice… I’m sure it will judging by the positive feedback 🙂

    • Hope you like it!! I made them a couple of times last summer (BBQ season!) and also used some of the tips from readers (refrigerating the patties first in cling film helped). The same ingredients also work well for minced beef (if you have carnivorous friends). Enjoy!

  9. Been searching the internet for some different recipes using veggie mince and came across this page. Will try these over the weekend thank you 🙂 . I think will add some red chilies in mine too

Leave a comment